The Sulcis - iglesiente region was known since ancient times because it was very rich in minerals (zinc, lead, copper and silver). Nuragic people, Phoenicians, Punics and Romans exploited the area: Romans used to call it “Metalla” because they sent condemned to hard labour to work in the mines...
We’ll visit Porto Flavia mine that ends in a breathtaking vista on the sea. It was dig in 1924 and it revolutionized the loading of minerals on ships: a conveyer belt collected the minerals from the galleries and then, by means of a jib, loaded directly on the ships. From Masua we’ll admire the wonderful Pan di Zucchero stack, a 134-meter high limestone stack raising in the middle of a wonderful bay.
Then we’ll go on toward Bugerru: we may decide to stop in one of the peculiar coves or enter the Fluminese valleys and visit the ruins of the ancient Antas temple and the 6-km long Karst grotto called “Su Mannau”.
- hiking Masua - Cala Domestica
- Visit to St. Barbara grotto
- Iglesias city tour
© Copyright 2014 Sardegna itinerari - All Rights Reserved - P. IVA 02956550921 - Questo sito non utilizza cookie